Compte rendu ‒ Conseil des ADPIC ‒ Afficher les détails de l'intervention/la déclaration

Ambassador Alfredo Suescum (Panama)
Afrique du Sud
534. Our delegation would align itself with the statement made by Nigeria on behalf of the Africa Group. We support the call to have ARIPO and OAPI inscribed as permanent observers. Furthermore, in respect of South Centre and the CBD Secretariat, we have reiterated in the past that we would also support observer status of these organizations.
The Council so agreed. The Council took note of the statements made and agreed to revert to the matter at its next meeting.
83. The Chairman indicated that there remained 13 pending requests for observer status in the TRIPS Council by intergovernmental organizations. The updated list was contained in document IP/C/W/52/Rev.13. Delegations had been informed at the Council's meeting in November 2016 that the Secretariat had made available the information that had been provided by all 13 intergovernmental organizations concerned on the Members' website. 3 It covered the nature of their respective work and the reasons for their interest in observer status. This should help delegations better understand each of the pending requests.

84. At the Council's meetings in 2016, a number of interested delegations had reiterated their support for granting permanent observer status to the South Centre, the CBD Secretariat and the International Vaccine Institute. Other delegations had signalled that they could agree to grant permanent observer status to the African Regional Intellectual Property Organization, the African Intellectual Property Organization, the Cooperation Council of the Arab States of the Gulf, and the European Free Trade Association. These four organisations currently enjoyed an ad hoc observer status on a meeting-to-meeting basis.

85. The previous Chair had repeatedly urged Members to assess the pending requests on their own merits, in particular the competence and interest that the requesting entity had in matters dealt with by the TRIPS Council.

86. The representatives of the United States, Nigeria on behalf of the African Group, India, Bangladesh on behalf of the LDC Group, Brazil, the European Union, South Africa, Egypt, China, the Plurinational State of Bolivia, Cuba, Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela and Indonesia took the floor.

87. The Chairman suggested that, since it was not possible to reach an agreement to grant permanent observer status to ARIPO, OAPI, GCC and EFTA, the Council again invite these four organizations to attend its next meeting on an ad hoc basis. This was in line with the agreement reached at the Council's meetings in June 2010 and November 2012 to grant them ad hoc observer status on a meeting-by-meeting basis.

88. The Council so agreed.

89. The Council took note of the statements made and agreed to revert to the matter at its next meeting.

IP/C/M/85, IP/C/M/85/Add.1